[Answered] Declaring DOCTYPE

All issues and questions relating to Turbo Tourney Pro should be posted here. Support members, forum moderators and other members can help you with your questions.

[Answered] Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby SamGordon » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:00 am

I use custom HTML coding. I worked on my menus by themselves for a while and it turns out I need the following at the very top of the HTML file:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">


I have it at the top of my custom header, but when I have TT create the page, it adds the following ABOVE my DOCTYPE
Code: Select all
<html>
<head>
<!--
*********************************************************************************
** This page was generated using Turbo Tourney Pro 2017 (http://www.turbotourney.com)
** Personal Edition
** Registered By Registration Number
** Copyright 1994 - 2017, theSideline.com, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
*********************************************************************************
-->
<title>TOURNAMENT NEWS</title>
<link href="turbohome.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
</head>
<body>


Any idea where/how I can put the DOCTYPE declaration at the top of the page?
RANDOM_AVATAR
SamGordon
 
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 2275
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby Doug » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:14 am

Hey Sam, I'll take a look but off hand I don't know of any option to insert code before the <HTML> tag. That's what you're looking for right?
User avatar
Doug
 
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 4009
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:06 pm
Location: Ankeny, IA
Old Username: Doug

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby SamGordon » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:55 pm

Hi Doug. Yea, it looks like it needs to be on line 1.

Here's my menu page by itself: http://samjrweb.com/Pool/tournament17/graphic_test.html.
Notice "Main Pool Reports", "Second Chance Pool Reports" and "Pool History" have drop downs.

Here's my page as generated from TT: http://samjrweb.com/Pool/tournament17/tournamentnews.html
The drop downs appear, until you try to click on them.

My only suggestion for TT's end would be if you have a custom header, then the manager is responsible for the html start tag (put it in the custom header and you're golden).

I'll keep looking to see if there's other ways I can pull it off.

Thanks
RANDOM_AVATAR
SamGordon
 
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 2275
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby SamGordon » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:37 pm

Well, I got it working in Chrome. The dropdowns don't work in Firefox or IE. :( I'm tired of beating my head against a wall trying to get them to work.

Link to my page: http://samjrweb.com/Pool/tournament17/turbohome.html
RANDOM_AVATAR
SamGordon
 
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 2275
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby Doug » Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:06 pm

I looked and don't see any option to place code before the <html> tag. You can use the Custom META file but and that will put the code right after the <head> tag but that's as close as you can get.
User avatar
Doug
 
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 4009
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:06 pm
Location: Ankeny, IA
Old Username: Doug

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby SamGordon » Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:44 am

Thanks for checking.
RANDOM_AVATAR
SamGordon
 
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 2275
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

Postby Pizzaman » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:29 am

I've struggled with this in the past Sam. There's no way around it. The DOCTYPE or lack of such is hard coded into each page.
An option for this would be a nice addition.
User avatar
Pizzaman
 
{ USER_STATUS }:
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:03 am
Location: NE Ohio


Return to Turbo Tourney Pro Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron