Declaring DOCTYPE

All issues and questions relating to Turbo Tourney Pro should be posted here. Support members, forum moderators and other members can help you with your questions.
Post Reply
SamGordon
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG
Contact:

Declaring DOCTYPE

#1

Post by SamGordon » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:00 am

I use custom HTML coding. I worked on my menus by themselves for a while and it turns out I need the following at the very top of the HTML file:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
I have it at the top of my custom header, but when I have TT create the page, it adds the following ABOVE my DOCTYPE

Code: Select all

<html>
<head>
<!--
*********************************************************************************
** This page was generated using Turbo Tourney Pro 2017 (http://www.turbotourney.com)
** Personal Edition
** Registered By Registration Number
** Copyright 1994 - 2017, theSideline.com, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
*********************************************************************************
-->
<title>TOURNAMENT NEWS</title>
<link href="turbohome.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
</head>
<body>
Any idea where/how I can put the DOCTYPE declaration at the top of the page?

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:06 pm
Old Username: Doug
Location: Ankeny, IA

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

#2

Post by Doug » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:14 am

Hey Sam, I'll take a look but off hand I don't know of any option to insert code before the <HTML> tag. That's what you're looking for right?

SamGordon
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG
Contact:

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

#3

Post by SamGordon » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:55 pm

Hi Doug. Yea, it looks like it needs to be on line 1.

Here's my menu page by itself: http://samjrweb.com/Pool/tournament17/graphic_test.html.
Notice "Main Pool Reports", "Second Chance Pool Reports" and "Pool History" have drop downs.

Here's my page as generated from TT: http://samjrweb.com/Pool/tournament17/t ... tnews.html
The drop downs appear, until you try to click on them.

My only suggestion for TT's end would be if you have a custom header, then the manager is responsible for the html start tag (put it in the custom header and you're golden).

I'll keep looking to see if there's other ways I can pull it off.

Thanks

SamGordon
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG
Contact:

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

#4

Post by SamGordon » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:37 pm

Well, I got it working in Chrome. The dropdowns don't work in Firefox or IE. :( I'm tired of beating my head against a wall trying to get them to work.

Link to my page: http://samjrweb.com/Pool/tournament17/turbohome.html

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:06 pm
Old Username: Doug
Location: Ankeny, IA

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

#5

Post by Doug » Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:06 pm

I looked and don't see any option to place code before the <html> tag. You can use the Custom META file but and that will put the code right after the <head> tag but that's as close as you can get.

SamGordon
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:28 pm
Old Username: SamG
Contact:

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

#6

Post by SamGordon » Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:44 am

Thanks for checking.

User avatar
Pizzaman
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:03 am
Location: NE Ohio

Re: Declaring DOCTYPE

#7

Post by Pizzaman » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:29 am

I've struggled with this in the past Sam. There's no way around it. The DOCTYPE or lack of such is hard coded into each page.
An option for this would be a nice addition.

Post Reply